Skip To Content

Kendrick Lakes Named National Blue Ribbon School

Kendrick Lakes Named National Blue Ribbon School
Posted on 10/01/2018
Kendrick Lakes Elementary School was announced a winner of the 2018 National Blue Ribbon Awards by U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos today. The award affirms the hard work of students, teachers, and staff at Kendrick Lakes Elementary toward pursuing the highest academic standards.

"We’re incredibly proud of the students, staff, parents, and community at Kendrick Lakes and think this recognition is well deserved," said Superintendent Dr. Jason Glass.

The National Blue Ribbon Award is an annual designation presented to public and private elementary, middle, and high schools throughout the United States. Schools are nominated for the award by the state department of education, and then complete a comprehensive application about school practices. The program began in 1982 with the goal of recognizing schools for their academic excellence and accomplishments in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups. View the full press release from the U.S. Department of Education.

Only 349 schools nationwide received National Blue Ribbon School honors this year, five are in Colorado. The U.S. Department of Education will honor the award-winning schools at a recognition ceremony on November 7 and 8 in Washington, D.C.

"This is so exciting," said principal Sarah Roberts. "As a new principal I can’t take too much credit for the award, but I can tell you I’m proud to be a part of this amazing school and we’ll keep up the good work!"

"This is a phenomenal achievement for Kendrick Lakes Elementary," enthuses former principal David Singh (now principal at Wayne Carl Middle School). "The educators at Kendrick Lakes worked together to build an engaging academic program, and this is the fruit of their labor."

Kendrick Lakes Elementary will host its own celebration on Monday, November 12.

The Jeffco Public Schools that have received the National Blue Ribbon Award in the past include: Dennison Elementary (2003, 2010, 2017), Devinny Elementary (2016), Evergreen High (2007, 2015), Ralston Elementary (2013), Maple Grove Elementary (2005), D’Evelyn Jr/Sr High School (2004), Deer Creek Middle (1999-00), Kendallvue Elementary (1998-99), Westridge Elementary (1993-94), Thomson Elementary (1987-88), Evergreen Jr High (1986-87), Alameda Jr High (1984-85), Wheat Ridge High (1983-84), and Carmody Jr High (1982-83).
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.